Author Topic: Fixed Open Powervalve question  (Read 2824 times)

Offline Hillclimb#42

• '97 kx 500, '96 kx 250, '99 KTM 380
Fixed Open Powervalve question
« on: October 07, 2009, 01:12:28 AM »
First, I want to say that my 500's powervalve is operational. This season, I studied what was posted on here and the other fast riders that rode kx500's. I tried to use anything and everything from both, that made sense to me, to apply to my bike. Most everyone hillclimbing runs the FMF Gnarly, I think, with the FMF Powercore Silencer. My engine builder who is also involved heavily in Pro Hillclimbing suggested that I weld the Powervalve open like they do on Pro Bikes.

I am running the Pro Circuit II with the FMF Silencer. My bike sounds like it should in my mind. Like a set of new glass packs on a tuned V8, in my world anyway. The thing is, the other guys that race them on the Amatuer Level have their 500's sounding like a 250. Very clean, very "ying, ying". I know that they spend lots of money to get them tuned and maxed out, but I was wondering what freed up their motors the most.

Anyone ran their powervalves stuck open for drag racing or hillclimbing that can comment on the difference in sound and performance? I understand that I will lose bottom end and noone really recommends it for typical riding. How about the FMF pipe? Does it just sound different? Is it just the difference between stock porting and super modified porting?
How about anyone that has had an out of balance crank that got it straightened out? What did that do to the sound or  what affect did that have on performance?

I guess thats alot of questions for one thread, but I searched, and the last post was very old without the answers I needed. Thanks

stewart

Re: Fixed Open Powervalve question
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2009, 03:11:15 AM »
i would not disable the power valves

Offline KX500freak

• KX500 - Have a Wheelie good weekend
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2009, 06:16:33 AM »