Author Topic: shifting with out cluching?  (Read 13190 times)

Offline turtle22

• '89 & '01 kx500 '87 fxr HD '80 xr500
shifting with out cluching?
« on: March 30, 2009, 10:41:52 AM »
so i find myself speed shifting ALOT(in non binding situations) on straightaways hills. i drive truck for a living and never use the cluch to shift that& i find myself liking the smothness i get out of speed shifting. so my question is , is this bad for the cluch? what are the side effects that i dont know about. i use the cluch to stop and start and feathering it in tough spots. and yes i go up and down gears. im very smooth when i do this. the bike does not learch or buck. let me know. i love my K5 and dont want to do it undo harm(i do enought harm riding it :-D )
« Last Edit: March 31, 2009, 03:13:58 AM by turtle22 »
lets ride

Offline jfabmotorsports.com

Re: shifting with out cluching?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 10:57:24 AM »
Hey Turtle, You shift your truck, assuming its a semi type, without a clutch because it doesn't have synchronizers. The syncros job is to bring the clutch plates to the proper speed to allow a smooth shift. Autos and light trucks have them. If you never use your clutch on your kx ever again you will never wear the clutch out unless you have a Stewart engine that is capable of driving through the max clamping force of the clutch. almost every racer on smaller bike don't use the clutch to shift. It becomes a factor of pulling the bike out of gear not putting it back in. I never use the clutch to down shift.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2009, 11:01:24 AM by jfabmotorsports.com »
Don't just float through life, make waves!

Motorrad

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2009, 11:16:07 AM »
I have had to fix many motors (not mine) due to this...   Its HELL on shift dogs...

Offline KTMEXC125

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2009, 11:18:50 AM »