Author Topic: Kickstarter skipping fix! (88 KX250, and the like)  (Read 408 times)

Offline jamesohoh7

Kickstarter skipping fix! (88 KX250, and the like)
« on: November 08, 2023, 02:57:34 AM »
I did a search on kickstart-skipping and found most posts were years old already.  I didn't want to necro an old thread, so here we are.

Preface to all that follows:  I am not a mechanic.  You will no doubt spot this as I stumble through my discussion.  If I state something blatantly wrong, I am sorry and please correct me.  I am trying to offer some help, that is all.  I am not trying to trick anyone into blowing up their bike.

Now then...

Cliff's notes version:

The skipping of a kickstarter is, in my experience, very likely to be excessive play between the outer case cover and the shoulder on the kick-shaft just above that plastic centering-bushing.  If the kickstart shaft has any loose in/out play, this is likely your problem.  Shim this clearance out by buying some thin stainless washers and putting them on the kickstart shaft.  If you look at the microfiche for 88-early-90's KX's, you'll see they show a thin washer that goes there in some applications.  The generic shop-manual I have mentions 'some years have this washer'.  Its not very specific.

Importantly, the shims you use will -not- rest directly against that plastic spring-centering bushing..they will register against the small shoulder on the kick-shaft.  I don't know why this is, but I bought the shim (a Kawi oem part) for my bike, and the shim stops against this shoulder, not all the way to the plastic bushing like I was expecting.