Author Topic: 92 KX250 Runs(barely) want to rebuild. Shift lever pin broken off. Help?  (Read 3822 times)

Offline justjimmy999

I am considering a rebuild of the engine.  Will a 1993 engine and parts fit?  I am a newbie to this site, and the KX in general.  I have had it for years but its day has come.  Will not cold kick start.  I can roll start down a very long decline.  It runs horrible, eats oil, still has some power though.  Any suggestions?  Also the shift lever pin broke in second.  I need to tear down to replace that.  Looking for any and all suggestions.  Also interested maybe in buying a complete engine or willing to sell bike

Offline Foxx4Beaver

• James Stewart DID NOT invent the scrub!!..JoJo
Re: 92 KX250 Runs(barely) want to rebuild. Shift lever pin broken off. Help?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 02:30:34 AM »
92 and 93 were the "J" models...so most parts, if not all will interchange.
If you can only get it started by rolling down a long hill, more than likely your top-end is smoked....a simple compression test can verify that....might as well do a leak down test too....if it's smoking real bad and eating oil, it could very well have a bad main seal.
Post up a couple pics...lets have a look at the ole 250.
Excuse me, ma'am...but you've got extremely nice legs!!!...what time do they open???                                                                                                               https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8tCgN3aryQ

Offline justjimmy999

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2014, 05:17:35 AM »
I will gladly post some more photos later tonight.  Here's a couple for now.  Ill take some good ones of the engine etc.  BTW, it has a new Stator, and plug.  I figured as old as it is couldn't hurt for me to tear it down and take a look.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/qirqgp3mfklm6wm/rUWgQObSA2

Offline Foxx4Beaver

« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2014, 05:36:37 AM »
it's all there...looks good.