Author Topic: Reed Cage  (Read 3439 times)

Rowdy-Yates

Reed Cage
« on: October 15, 2004, 04:52:30 PM »
Hey all I have a Question. I have a used bike I opened up the reed cage to put new reeds in. I discovered that the previous owner took out the reed stops. How important are these? Should I buy some? Does it affect the powerband? How long will my reeds last if I dont have these in? Any info will help.

mikesmith

Reed Cage
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2004, 06:51:39 AM »
They make the reeds last longer,not sure how much power your getting with out them (not much if any) but I put them in.

Offline hughes

• Dirt Hammers
Reed Cage
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2004, 03:27:49 PM »
I installed some FMF Torque Reeds and they supplied tension strips to install in the factory stops place. I have been running them now for 8 months so far so good.
Open Class 2-Stroke Kawasaki KX500
Yamaha 2005 YZ250
Richard Hughes
Dirt Hammers - Online Off-Road Journal
hughes@dirthammers.com
http://www.dirthammers.com

Offline KXcam22

Reed Cage
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2004, 04:12:29 PM »
Certain reeds require reed stops to keep the tips from fluttering and then eventually breaking off.  Boysens and many other aftermarket reeds use a small strip to hold them on but no reed stop.  With steel reeds (not sure if anyone uses these anymore) the fluttering tips crumble and go through the engine (ouch$$).  R-Y I would suggest not putting in the stockers. Get some Boysen dual-stage for cheap or the V-force. Cam.

Rowdy-Yates

Reed Cage
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2004, 06:55:37 PM »
I guess i did not make myself clear. I have after market reeds that i was going to install. They are called Aktive reeds. But the installation instructions show the reed stops. Does the V-force have reed stops??? Nope just looked it up.

Rowdy-Yates

Re: Reed Cage
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2004, 02:03:00 PM »
Quote from: Rowdy-Yates