Author Topic: KX500 Complete Rebuild Help  (Read 1860 times)

Offline jim_cliff11

KX500 Complete Rebuild Help
« on: May 21, 2009, 10:07:34 AM »
Hi all,

Im based in North West England in the UK and its my first time on this forum.
Basiclly Im in need of some help, i bought a KX500 in about 100 pieces from a bloke. Its all there and im currently in the process of rebuilding it. Ive had the frame sand blasted and resprayed, all the bearings, sleaves and bushes have been replaced. Engines on and Ive started work on the electrics. Its not far from being complete. Anyway i have a few questions i need help with, im very capable when it comes to machinery but this is my first time building up a bike.

1. The exhaust fits into the port on the head. However it is very loose and there is no seal between the head and the pipe. There is however two grooves on the end of the pipe and in the port. Do I need some sort of seal kit? If so what parts does it consist of and where can i purchase in the UK?

2. I have the CDI and coil all hooked up to the stator, however I get no spark when turning the engine over. It looks like the wiring has been butchered previously. Does anyone have any wiring diagrams or know how I can go about sorting this? Also there is a few wires left over coming from the CDI. Im not sure which is which.

When I bought the lot the bloke said it consisted of a 96 frame with a 94 engine, so far I havent had any problems. Its all gone together well. If anyone can shed any light on these problems for me it would be greatly appriciated. Ill add more queries as I go along.

Many thanks.
Jim

Offline Hillclimb#42

• '97 kx 500, '96 kx 250, '99 KTM 380
Re: KX500 Complete Rebuild Help
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2009, 10:18:05 AM »