Author Topic: Back in the saddle again  (Read 1967 times)

Offline jakeskx

Back in the saddle again
« on: April 24, 2009, 03:44:52 PM »
 Hey guys, hows it going? I've been registered for a week or so and have visited the site quite a few times, but this is the first time I've introduced myself, so here goes. I live in a small rural town in Iowa , population @ 800 or so. A small grocery/convenince store,local bank,2 bars, and a cozy little cafe. I actually grew up in this town up till I was about 15. My parents divorced and I ended up moving away. Then my dad had a stroke a couple of years ago, the house was left unoccupied all that time, what a mess! Anyway,long story short, I ended up getting the place and in the process of remodeling it. I'm a carpenter by trade so that comes in handy I guess. So after I move myself and family into the old homestead I introduced myself to the new neighbor next door. He happens to own one of the bars in town by the way,while we where talking he tells me the bar is now kind of a biker bar, cool. So he shows me his bikes, a couple of Harleys, a older Goldwing and a really nice 2000 KX500! He says that the bike is for sale and my heart skipped a little. I HAD to have it. So we struck up a deal of $1500 for the old beast. Not only that but, being the great guy that he is, he's letting me make payments on it knowing that I've got a family and a lot of my extra income has been dumped into the house to make it liveable again. What a guy! He's even getting the top end rebuilt before he lets me take it so that I won't have to worry about that for a while.He is cool. We're going to go pick it up in the morning, I can hardly wait. My wife says I'm like a little kid with a new toy at Christmas. I did test ride it for a day so I know it's a good bike, but I'm hoping it will be even tougher now. It's been a few years since I've had a dirtbike. That TS250 was nothing like this thing at all. Well I'd better let y'all go, I'm not going to wrute a