Author Topic: ace is here  (Read 2270 times)

ace

ace is here
« on: June 03, 2006, 12:18:11 PM »
This seems like the place.I need to talk to some die hard kx500 owners ,like gowen.They are far and few in these parts. I have lived just outside buffalo NY my whole life.ridden and raced off road my whole life ,amatuer hillclimbs,grass drags , poker runs etc.Mechanic by trade ,worked on everthing but aircraft.Competition limited to NY,PA and OHio.Have ridden in most east coast states all the way down to florida including Georgia and the Carolinas .Consider myself extremely lucky have rv to travel and great woman who will follow me anywhere and try anything on her kx100.Neither of us have broken any bones on the bikes ,just minor stuff.Right now my kx500 is apart ,its a 2001 that i purchased used in june 2002.It has maybe 30 hrs on it . The previous owner had 2 kx500s he built the his first one for the woods,then he got intrested in drags so he bought the 2001 new and sent the head to eric gorr to have the head relieved for higher rpm,still dont now exactly what eric did.I believe he changed the angle from 10 degrees to 18 still not sure but i would like to now.He also added a desert pipe and fmf powercore silencer ,rode it maybe 3 times and proceeded to go out and crash his woods kx so bad he had to sell them both.I was already looking to buy new so when i came upon this bike with the mods allready done and the nipples still on the tires i didnt think twice and bought it. So here i am few years later with very little hours on the bike ,i didnt say easy hours, hillclimb and drags high rpm time .top 5 at climbs best was a second place,unbeatable at the drags even beat 800 cc sled and 900 ninga including all the best built banshees. Over the the years i have added boyesen rad valve ,steel clutch plates,swingarm extenstions and works connection protection.I sucked some dirt at the drags and ruined the nikasil bore .Sent to us chrome for replating came back with some porosi