Author Topic: new to two strokes and dirt - excessive smoke  (Read 5504 times)

red66chevelle

new to two strokes and dirt - excessive smoke
« on: November 16, 2005, 11:21:18 AM »
i have been riding and working on bikes for about six years, and i recently purchaced my first dirtbike... a 1990 kx250.  the bike was leaking coolant into the tranny, but i think i fixed the problem by replacing the water pump oit seal. (ill know the next time i go out for a day) anyway...  the bike seems to bogg at lower rpm in first geat in particular (which may be normal for a kx250 or any 2 stroke bike - but im new) and smokes and drips lots out the silencer. other than that the bike seems to run great. starts right up and had plenty of power once up in the rpm.   i was running a buddies premix of 20:1 for a few days not knowing any better and finally got the service manual and then ran the suggested 32:1.  is the excessive smoking normal and if not what may be causing it... jetting, mixture, fiberglass in the silencer?

thanks for any help and sorry about being so new.
[i dont believe it took me this ling to get in the dirt!!!]

hoopty

RE: new to two strokes and dirt - excessive smoke
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2005, 11:35:25 AM »
Modern synthetics are wonderful things, I run my 500 @ 100:1 with Amsoil Pro 100. No smoke, no spooge. Been running that way for years and never had a problem.

Oh, welcome to the site  :mrgreen:

GSTinCO

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2005, 12:02:06 PM »
^^^^ Synthetics are great, they will be your best friend. Enjoy the dirt.

Offline Timbowe

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2005, 01:06:54 PM »
250s are a bit low in the power dept at the lower end of the band. Try a reed block spacer and/or Veeforce reed block to broaden the power curve. Makes things a lot more user friendly.