Author Topic: KX is running backwards  (Read 5461 times)

dsnyder

KX is running backwards
« on: July 04, 2005, 01:18:49 AM »
Guys, I need your help! Can't figure out why my boys bike is running backward and the season is fast dissapearing. Here's whats happening:
Traded the PW80 on a 1989 L2 KX 80 that came with a parts bike also. Went through the KX 80 and took it to the riding track so the boy could get used to the clutch....No problems,ran fine . Came home ,wanted to ride togetherwith him and me on my Blaster. Started the KX 80 and when we let the clutch out it went backwards! What a surprise. I am new to the bike word..I am an ASE Master Truck technicion but have alot to learn on the MX side.
  After some inspection, I found that when the engine is brought down to a stall condition(as in learning how to use the clutch) or if it's not kicked a full stroke when starting, it will run backward. Everyone tells me it's timing but I am not sure I'm checking it correctly. Here's what I've done so far:
1) Pulled the rotor(flywheel) and checked the key, crank keyway and flywheel keyway..all were ok.

2) Made a TDC piston stop and at TDC marked the case for TDC through 25 degrees advanced. Also marked the flywheel for TDC.

3) Hooked up a timing light with an external battery and checked timing.It showed 30 degrees advance @ about 1/3 throttle. As I went over this throttle position, the light quit strobing( to high of an RPM to strobe properly?) Is this normal?

Here's what I need to know: Is this a normal condition?

What is the proper way to check timing?

What could be causing this?

There are a few items to note: The previous owner was seemingly not to good at piecing things together . The schematic shows that the KX stator should have 4 wires,mine only has 3 which is what the KDX should have. I think the guy before me changed it. What is the other wire for could this effect timing?

Hot,cold,wet or dry doesn't make any difference