Author Topic: Taming The Beast!  (Read 6896 times)

kawrider

Taming The Beast!
« on: July 15, 2004, 03:56:38 AM »
:shock:

I recently bought two new  '04 bikes: a kx125 for my son & the big green monster, kx 500 for myself.  The k5 was a deal & when I heard this was the last year, I just couldn't pass it up.  

A little background.  I started riding as a kid & got my first full size bike, a  '74 KS125 when I was 14 (in 1975).  It was my first two-stroke & I absolutely loved it.  The KS was made only one year & was really a street-legal kx.  I had it tuned so it would really fly & rode entirely in the dirt.  I've continued to ride over the years, but mostly street bikes.  When deciding what to buy for my son & I to ride together (in the dirt), I went back to Kaw and the two-strokes!

The 125 is about what I expected & my son loves it.  The 500 is incredible. Hands down the fastest thing I have ever rode in the dirt.  But too fast to ride on the small tracks around here (my son likes the tracks) in stock tune.  Has anybody out there ever de-fanged one of these babies?

Offline Paul

• Top Dawg
    • KX Riders
Taming The Beast!
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2004, 04:11:09 AM »
Go to a 50 tooth on the rear, OR a 13 on the front. Maybe both, depends on your style of riding but that will help you greatly on the track.

mikesmith

Taming The Beast!
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2004, 08:05:26 AM »
In a world of "got to have a 4-stroke" you made a great choice on getting your KX's!I think the more time you spend on the big 500 the better you'll feel on a tight track.I ride tight single track and have ridden on tight MX tracks and after a while you wont notice how BIG the 500 is.I havent used a fly wheel weight my self but that may help,but Paul has and didnt mention it in his post so maybe it wont.Paul?

Offline Paul

• Top Dawg
    • KX Riders
Taming The Beast!
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2004, 08:09:12 AM »
Talk to Rick, I HATED my flywheel weight  :lol:

Rick

Taming The Beast!