Author Topic: Favorite Self-Build mods for the KX500  (Read 5776 times)

Offline KXcam22

Favorite Self-Build mods for the KX500
« on: June 02, 2004, 01:03:13 AM »
I started this thread so everyone could boast about their home made modifications/parts they have built for their K5 and maybe provide some details, pictures or drawings. Being an engineer, I love building things for my KX (even when it would probably make more sense to buy it). I have seen some pretty impressive mods described here.  Here is a partial list:

- skid plate
- shark fin
- reed spacer
- power now
- fork guards
- dog bones
- pipe guards

Paul, Rick is you could provide details on best way to send/attach pictures etc. Thanks. Cam.

mikesmith

« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2004, 07:09:27 AM »
Ive done all the above (except dog bones)but add radiator guards,frame guards,pipe mounts,frame guessets,peg wideners,carb vent canister,rear caliper guard,run the front brake line CR style,chain guide,sub frame protecter from the chain,and lengthend my clutch arm and rerouted the cable,cleaned up the porting,filled my bars with expanding foam,silencer plug for washing the bike and a lift stand.These are all the do-it-myself mods Ive done besides those listed above that I can think of for now.

Offline KXcam22

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2004, 08:15:11 AM »
Mike,
  Yea. Looks like I missed a bunch.  I'd be very interrested in some details on the brake line reroute. Thanks. Cam.

Offline gowen

• Resident Newbie
  • Global Moderator
  • www.KXRiders.com
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2004, 08:45:19 AM »
mike, can you tell a diffrence in the vibes with the expanding foam?

mikesmith

« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2004, 06:19:16 AM »