Author Topic: Bob weight toal for Balancing a crank  (Read 3167 times)

Offline 81cr450

Bob weight toal for Balancing a crank
« on: February 16, 2011, 12:55:52 PM »
Hi I need to know the bobweight figure for balancing a kx500. I'm a machinist engine / assembler by trade & have a balancer that I run but its all automotive & industrial innillators. I can do the work but I dont know the math figure for the bobweight. I realize this is info most machinist's dont want to share but... Please. I figure its got to be total weight on the rod, bearings" upper & lower." piston, locs, rings, pin. I just need to know thats right, where on a v-8 you split the second rod on the throw by eliminating the pin end half of that rod. Or where on a opposed inline you use no bobweight. Oh great machinist wiseone please teach young grasshoppa. Input on crank truing in a v block would help also. :roll:
if I only had a pair, I could actually ride this thing

& to the people I like  FYYFF

Offline byron909

Re: Bob weight toal for Balancing a crank
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 04:00:06 PM »
wouldn't you just weigh everything on top of your rod?? your stuff might weigh different than my stuff.
1984 cr500 1985 kx125 1999ktm300mxc
1986 cr500 1986 kx500 2013.5 ktm450 fe
1987 cr500 1994 kx500
1991 cr500 2000 kx125
1995 cr250 2008 kx500
1995 cr500
2003 cr250
2003 cr500
2008 cr500

Offline greencannon

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2011, 12:45:15 AM »
the machinist in my area that i use from time to time is very reputable in my area. His work is top notch and have had a lot of referals by many enthusiasts.
The shop he runs specializes in custom drag bikes and really high hp engines. I had him true and weld my K5 crank that came brand new right from Kawi.  a worth while mod in my opinion.