Author Topic: Getting back to the dirt!!!!!  (Read 3194 times)

Offline butchpatrick

• Legends never die!!!
Getting back to the dirt!!!!!
« on: April 07, 2010, 04:34:28 PM »
Hello from IN!! I have a DR200(got from a guy that went to jail) and a 2002 KX500(got from a friend that in 1 month got a divorce and lost his job)SORRY.  DR200 $250, KX500 $500, FUN PRICELESS. The KX has mybe 25hrs on it MYBE. IM getting back into the dirt seen because i'm more into the 1968 triumph hardtails or panheads, but for the prices you can't beat it. So please if anyone can give me some advise a motor diagram (website) trans oil, oil change,a good spark plug and gap, gas mixture it would be GREAT. I'm new to the 2-stroke, but heard this bike has the power and torque and should be respected. Thanks for the advise and might need some help with the medical bills.

Offline Friar-Tuck

• \o/ Live Free or Die
Re: Getting back to the dirt!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2010, 06:25:32 PM »
 Welcome Butch,
 There are plenty o' threads to peruse.   So much is personal preference it's hard to just toss out a formula to fit all.
I would recommend picking up a Clymer manual
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=Clymer+kx500&x=11&y=22
  Or
The Two Factory Service Manuals and the Owners Manual
 http://www.kawasaki.com/DefaultFrame.aspx?strContentURL=/Site/VIVehicleInformation/VItechpubs.asp?intCatalogID%3d2%26CatalogTypeID%3d4%26ProductTypeID%3d10%26ModelMarketingID%3d138%26ModelCode%3dKX500E14%26ModelYear%3d2002%26SHOWVEHTABS%3d1

You can also find them on ebay or a dealer.
 The clymer is actually very good, the guys who put together the motorcycle books do a much better job than the automotive dept. (I Think).
  This saved me alot of time and money, along with the folks here.
  Having someone there with a little expierience is a tremendous help.  Maybe another Hoosier will chime in and lend a hand.

Tuck\o/
"The Truth Has No Agenda"

Offline Hillclimb#42