Author Topic: 86 kx500  (Read 8280 times)

Offline logans

86 kx500
« on: March 25, 2010, 01:59:29 PM »
hey guys, its nice knowing that there is a site just for kx riders. i am new to kawasaki and just bought a really nice 86 kx500, what would be the best info to know? as far as fule mixtures to anything to help me with getting to no the bike. Thanxs, Logans :-)

Offline Friar-Tuck

• \o/ Live Free or Die
Re: 86 kx500
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 04:01:56 PM »
 Welcome Logans,
  There is so much  here to sift through it's hard to know where to begin. The best thing I think I did was get  a
manual.  I found the Clymer KX manual to be great. It is cheaper than the FSM and will have everything you need to work on the bike.
http://www.amazon.com/Kawasaki-1982-1991-1983-2002-Clymer-Motorcycle/dp/0892878649/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1269574858&sr=1-1
  These pop up on ebay somewhat less than new, as well as owners manual etc.

The next best advice I can think of is to verify the condition of the engine and Brakes!
   A well tuned stock engine will give you a baseline to measure any future mods and may save frustration and $'s
 Hopefully some of the guys with early bikes will be able to give you some options on parts availability and suppliers.
  A word of caution on throttle control...
Don't be afraid to take it easy right off, things start to happen quickly, as I'm sure you'll find out. :-D
   Fuel/oil ratio, brands of fuel, pre-mix and tranny fluid have many and varied opinions.  What type of riding you will do & skill level are things guys will factor in to their advice. 
      There may be other members in your area willing to help out. 
Glad to have you along.
Tuck\o/

"The Truth Has No Agenda"

Offline blueoval

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2010, 04:17:13 PM »