Author Topic: KX500 SUPERMOTO TIPS?  (Read 10762 times)

Offline tha.steev.oh

KX500 SUPERMOTO TIPS?
« on: September 19, 2009, 09:16:40 AM »
First timer to this site but excited as hell to get started.

I am looking to spend the winter building a 2000 KX500 supermoto that'll take the thumpers' lunch money at the track next year. I'm new to the 500 but not new to 2-smokes. Beyond freshening up the engine, the list of mods I am planning are:
- 17" supermoto rims/tires
- 4-piston Brembo front brake kit (including master cylinder, 320mm rotor, and steel braided lines)
- reed spacer & V-Force
- KIPS bolt mod
- piston window mod
- bigger carb (41-44mm?)  * What would be the trade-offs to a bigger bore?? *
- possibly porting??
- lighten the flywheel
- FMF Gnarly pipe & Powercore silencer
- custom pipe/skidplate "cage" for asphalt protection

Can anyone see an area for improvement? I've checked many forums and you guys are far and away the best resource on the web. Looking forward to your feedback.

Thanks,
Steve

Offline KX500freak

• KX500 - Have a Wheelie good weekend
Re: KX500 SUPERMOTO TIPS?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2009, 10:31:53 AM »
yea you have it all figured out ,nice work ,
i could only suggest you for a suspension revalve and adjust for sm,
for all sm projects check the sm section
for the 12 mm master ,my experience is that you need to squeeze to hard ,better stay stock first with a 4cal. only
my sm,s runs stock carbs but jetted and one has boyesen reeds with a big pipe
i also did a custom pipe/pump protector on my racer
succes !
Dutch Team Green 91-94-01 KX500

Offline Larry Wiechman

« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2009, 12:20:29 PM »
I'd vote for a heavier flywheel. You'll have a power advantage, but won't be able to hook-up as good (or as early) as the thumpers. Will the tracks you run have a dirt section?

Offline tha.steev.oh

« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2009, 07:11:58 AM »