Author Topic: Front fork questions.  (Read 5804 times)

Offline oic0

Front fork questions.
« on: July 20, 2009, 06:03:35 AM »
I'm still learning to ride on the KX500, haven't managed to kill myself yet (prolly shoulda started on a 125 or 250 lol). Few questions though...

Do you ever get used to the wheelies? Any time I open the throttle I find myself giving almost my total awareness to wheelie detection. For instance, I was in third gear running wide open. Sitting close to the gas tank and with as much weight as I could safely put towards the front of the bike. Screaming along nicely and then seemingly at random the front wheel starts to come up. I didn't feel a burst of acceleration like hitting the powerband or anything, I was actually expecting to run out of power and need to shift pretty soon, but up it comes. It always seems to pop a wheelie when I least expect it to.

How many clicks do you run on the front forks? I am currently 6 clicks away from the hardest setting, probably due to how much I hug the tank. It made things a lot more stable when stopping though. Before I was getting headshake on decelleration.

Lastly, how do I get faster in the woods? any keen bit of insight you guys can bestow upon me or do I need to keep on practicing? I was getting pretty confident and picking the pace up until I hit a patch of grass covered sand going through a corner in second. nearly laid it over but by reflex I kicked the ground hard with my left leg as I was going down and it stood back up. It may be a tire problem though. I am running a Maxxis desert 120/90 tire. It seems like if I give it ANY gas while turning it kicks the rear out. The tire is brand new and fresh but maybe it is just too hard for good handling? or maybe its my tank hugging ways?
« Last Edit: April 19, 2010, 07:44:00 AM by Danger4u2 »
2000 KX500
1998 Warrior, with RD350 engine (Blown up)
1973 RD350 (In storage)

Offline k5for-life

• its not what you ride its that you ride thats all