Author Topic: KX5 drain plug repair  (Read 3005 times)

Offline KXsidecar

KX5 drain plug repair
« on: February 14, 2009, 11:49:56 AM »
Hey all,

I have a '91 KX5 engine that took a rock to the drain plug. Broke the drain plug and threads completely out. Is it possible to repair the case or do I need to replace? I can't post pic yet. Soon I will have enough post and will post a pic.
I loved this motor and want to run it again.

Thanks for any help,

KXsidecar
or Mike the Tall

Offline Friar-Tuck

• \o/ Live Free or Die
Re: KX5 drain plug repair
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 01:15:04 PM »
  Mike,
Cases are pretty pricey new, you may be able to find a decent used set,
But have you considered "Helicoil" or the like?
    There are several other "JB Weld type repairs. Usually a two part epoxy type deal.
 I think that would be great as a band-aid to finish a race however welding and re-tapping or helicoil type insert would be the best bet.
 (I am no expert by any means, but I have used the helicoil on a friends stripped drainplug and held great for three years and then the guy sold the bike.)
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RFYa6sjhh_E&feature=related

http://www.amazon.com/Helicoil-5334-14-Thread-Thread-Repair/dp/B0002SRF4O

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvmL0pEphQI
http://www.timesert.com/
"The Truth Has No Agenda"

Offline cbxracer30

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2009, 12:35:36 AM »
I've already had nickle size holes repaired in sets of cases. You need it find someone in your area thatis very skilled with a tig welder. This person should be able to fill the hole right in, but you will have to retouch the area with a file and or retap the threaded hole. For best results you should split the motor , the case welds best when its all cleaned up.The last time I priced cases ,and you must buy them as a set they were over $300. and that was at least 4 yrs. ago
Yep, you can ride it - if YOU can start it !!

Offline barryadam

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2009, 07:54:25 AM »