Author Topic: My story  (Read 2440 times)

Offline keithluneau

My story
« on: April 01, 2009, 02:58:09 AM »
So here's my story, and how I ended up here.  8-)

I've always had something to ride since I was a kid, I started riding my dad's Honda 110s and 90s when I was about 5. By the time I was old enough to get out of the yard I'd worn those out! lol My first dirtbike was a XR100R that I rode to death. We got that one rebuilt and I sold it shortly after, and got a 200X 3-wheeler.

Fast forward a number of years and various bikes, and last year I got a great deal on a sickly, beaten XR200R that I rebuilt from the ground up, literally. My brother in law picked up a '82 XR250R about the same time, and we put more than a fair share of miles on those bikes over the summer! I got an offer to sell the bike that I couldn't turn down, so it left. I've been wanting another dirtbike ever since. My brother in law just picked up a 2000 KX250 a few weeks ago, and I found an '89 KX250. That's where the story goes bad...  :|

To start off, I saw this bike listed on eBay not far from me, not running. Supposedly it was running and quit, and the guy put it up and didn't mess with it anymore. I figured it must be an easy fix, or at least worth taking a shot at it. I watched the bike, I had $500 to spend at the time. It sold for $510, and I just flat out didn't have it, or a way to go get it, so I passed and saved a little longer. When Steve (my brother in law) went to get his bike, a guy walked over and started talking to him, and low and behold he was the guy that bought the '89 on eBay that I wanted. What are the odds?!