Author Topic: Noob on board...  (Read 1850 times)

Offline Larry Gude

Noob on board...
« on: January 26, 2009, 01:19:30 AM »
Hey,

Noob here. Thanks for having me on board!

Old guy, 45, 6' 2", 260, Only been riding since last fall when I got invited to go to Tomahawk MX in West Virginia and spent 4 muddy, chilly hours on a CRF230 with no kick start and a dead battery, so, every stall and fall was an exercise in finding enough of a slope to get her roll started. At the end of the day, I was exhausted, beat up and exhilarated.

Before that, I've been riding 4 wheelers for about 2 years just for fun; I have an '03 Polaris 700 Sportsman and an '01 Artic Cat 400, both utes, and I ride one or the other at least a little bit nearly every day. Until I went to Tomahawk.

I bought that CFR, got a new batt,  :-D and, unless it's snowy or icy out, (aka '4 wheeler days') I ride it, at least a little bit, every day. It's small for me, but, a great learner bike.

Over Christmas, I went to Albuquerque to see my best friend and his little brother and to go ride in what he endlessly describes as Heaven. He talked about this thing they ride, a K something or other, 2 stoke, bad ass bike. At that time, 2 stroke, 4 stroke, anh, I kinda knew what that meant. Kind of. Whatever. It's a bike, right?

Well, his bro is the total gear head and they have two of those green things and borrowed a third one from a friend for me to ride. I am not very flexible and learning to kick start it was a chore, especially at altitude. Little brother started having reservations that I was not ready for this, at all. So, he gets me up on a little bank to help get me situated to kick the thing, get her running and I follow big bro around through some basic little whoops and turns while little bro watches, playing life guard.