Author Topic: Need welding pointers, Please!  (Read 3535 times)

Offline alan

• Administrator
Need welding pointers, Please!
« on: December 11, 2007, 05:27:35 AM »
How many welders do we have out there? I just finished building my home shop and have been trying to get back up to speed with my new TIG welder. I am mostly a self taught welder and machinist. I have done lots of MIG welding fabricating trailers and various other black metal projects.  All of my TIG experience was at the University Art Department and at the foundry I cast my art work in Santa Fe, NM.
So now I am retired and I have 2 new Miller welders to play with.  The MIG is no problem, but the TIG has so many new functions, it is driving me crazy................

Back when I started TIG welding I was using a Linde 460 water cooled. It had AC & DC what a beast.  I think we used pure tungsten with a green band. Now I have a Miller Synrowave 200, The d**n thing has all kinds of different settings, AC, DC Square Wave and a whole hand full of other settings that I don't know what they do! I have been practicing on very thin Aluminum and am currently using .040 orange tungsten, with pure Argon gas. I am getting pretty good at running beads on .015 thick Aluminum. I guess I have always heard if you can weld beer cans together, you can weld anything!

I would really appreciate any suggestions!

Thanks Alan :-D
Sand - Dirt - Dunes = Fun
       04- 700V - 01- KX500
        08 TeryX 2012 KX450F

Offline demographic

Re: Need welding pointers, Please!
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2007, 09:00:05 AM »
Right for a start, I don't know much at all about welding aluminium but have worked as a welder and weld inspector in the past, from what I know for aluminium you want square wave AC, you might well have a post purge setting on the welder, thats for the gas.

It keeps pumping a bit of gas out whilst the weld pool is molten to keep the oxygen and nitrogen away from the hopefully good weld.