Author Topic: Is the K5 outdated?  (Read 6243 times)

afritts4u

Is the K5 outdated?
« on: December 19, 2005, 04:55:29 AM »
I have been riding my 99 KX500 for 2 years now, almost entirely in the desert. I have no doubt this is still one of the best bikes ever for desert racing! Thanks to more and more land being shut down however, I find myself on tracks more often lately. Im not giving up my K5 for desert. After all the $1500 - $2500 you can get is not worth taking it out of my garage. I am considering a new purchase for my MX Track riding.

I'm no pro MX'er. A good Novice at best. I was wondering however how much of an improvement a new bike like the KX450 would be on the track. Are we talking 10ths faster or Minutes? My speculation is the K5 is outdated for track situations?

Offline machine

Is the K5 outdated?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2005, 05:08:35 AM »
I'm sure the KX450 is great for trak, but the 4 speed I think would suck big time if you ever wanted to use it in the deserts!!!

I'm a big Kawi fan, but I think I'd always really like 5 gears, at least if not 6!!!! :lol:

Torch654

Is the K5 outdated?
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2005, 05:36:27 AM »
Is the K5 outdated?.......Yes but so am I. I will keep it till they make something with more power thank you very much

Offline Timbowe

Is the K5 outdated?
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2005, 11:11:12 AM »