Author Topic: Anyone tried Foam/Baffling INSIDE the tank??  (Read 2799 times)

IridiumRed

Anyone tried Foam/Baffling INSIDE the tank??
« on: August 16, 2005, 12:14:05 AM »
hey guys

Just wondered if anyone here at tried running foam inside their gas tanks to reduce "sloshing" of the fuel - during brake/throttle transitions, side to side transitions, etc

roadracers use this stuff all the time, talk about good effect from it, but I've never heard of it on a dirtbike (but I'm new to this game as well, so....tried searching but didn't come up with anything...)

Not talking just any foam here, Airtech in particular makes some special foam - A I R T E C H's website:

http://www.airtech-streamlining.com/miscpages/foam.html

its like a big sponge really.  not affected by gas obviously.

I've heard, that on say a 4-5 gallon bike it might take up about 1 quart of space, not a big really

Any thoughts?

Offline demographic

Re: Anyone tried Foam/Baffling INSIDE the tank??
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2005, 07:47:04 AM »
Quote from: IridiumRed
hey guys

Just wondered if anyone here at tried running foam inside their gas tanks to reduce "sloshing" of the fuel - during brake/throttle transitions, side to side transitions, etc

roadracers use this stuff all the time, talk about good effect from it, but I've never heard of it on a dirtbike (but I'm new to this game as well, so....tried searching but didn't come up with anything...)

Not talking just any foam here, Airtech in particular makes some special foam - A I R T E C H's website:

http://www.airtech-streamlining.com/miscpages/foam.html

its like a big sponge really.  not affected by gas obviously.

I've heard, that on say a 4-5 gallon bike it might take up about 1 quart of space, not a big really

Any thoughts?

I have heard about it but as KX tanks are high instead of long I don't think it would make much difference.
Plus it would make it a real pain working out how much petrol is in the tank.