Author Topic: Ordering Sprockets and chain...suggestions please  (Read 4001 times)

Kaveman42

Ordering Sprockets and chain...suggestions please
« on: July 25, 2005, 05:22:59 AM »
Im gonna order front/rear sprockets and a chain. I was wondering if I should go with the Renthal which is aluminum or go with gnarlyparts.com which would be steel?

Which size should I go for? 13/48 or 13/49?

Im thinking about the Renthal chain but what size chain do I need? X-Ring? O-ring? non O-ring?

I usually ride light trails since im a beginner. I noticed that I stay in 1st gear a lot and it does kinda bog down the engine at lower speeds. Thats why Im thinking about the lower gears. Im not sure what size I have now since the wheel is at the shop getting the spokes fixed. I can let you know when I get it back.

Thanks for your input.

Kaveman42

RE: Ordering Sprockets and chain...suggestions please
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2005, 05:36:55 AM »
I just noticed my front sprocket has 15teeth. I had a feeling this bike was setup for speed. I wonder what my rear has.

Offline alan

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2005, 06:33:47 AM »
O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring-O-Ring!

The largest front sprocket you can use to achieve the desired ratio the better!

Alan :)
Sand - Dirt - Dunes = Fun
       04- 700V - 01- KX500
        08 TeryX 2012 KX450F

afritts4u

Dont use steel
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2005, 06:53:39 AM »
I just ordered and received a steal sunstar. Got it from Denniskirk for $27. It would make a good dumbell weight. I would have returned it if I did not have to pay for shipping. A few mfg like sidewinder claim an increase of 2 rear wheel horsepower by using a lighter sprocket. The rear sprocket is both unsprung and rotating, double the effects of extra weight!