Author Topic: Well I bought the 1999 KX 500! Holy Shyte!  (Read 2355 times)

mg175150

Well I bought the 1999 KX 500! Holy Shyte!
« on: May 30, 2005, 12:53:06 PM »
Said the heck with it and bought my friend's 1999 KX5.  Man this thing can be a widow maker if you're not careful.  Although many tried to steer me away from this particular bike, primarily cause i've never really ridden before, i'm happy I went through with it.  I paid $2k and he threw in the boots.  The bike wasn't ridden much.  The original tires are still there and they look new.

Like I said before i'm new to this so here are a few dumb questions.  

1.  I'm 5'10" and about 180.  My feet are still not flat on the ground when I sit on the seat.  Please tell me that the seat height is adjustable and if so how do I do it?

2.  What's the best way to load the bike into my truck if i'm by myself and cannot find a hill to back up to?  

3.  Seems like the bike won't go through the gears and then into neutral when I am not moving.  What exactly is the gear sequence?

4.  I can get the bike to start with the first kick and idle fine, but after riding for 15-20 minutes it seems like it doesn't want to idle on it's own anymore.

5.  I have read about flywheel weights.  Is this recommended for somebody just getting used to this bike?

Thanks for any info anybody can provide me.

Offline hughes

• Dirt Hammers
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2005, 03:12:07 PM »
Congrads on the bike.

1)  You may need to set the sag. You have pre-load adjustment on the rear shock. This will set the ride height with you on the bike. Do a seach on this site and you will find more info on how to.

2) ATV loading ramps work great. They are wide enough to walk beside the bike as you load it into the truck.

3) 1 down 4 up. Netural in between 1 and 2. The trans shift better with the engine running or by rock the bike back fourth with it not running.