Author Topic: Is this KX 500 for me?  (Read 4001 times)

mg175150

Is this KX 500 for me?
« on: May 25, 2005, 12:30:27 PM »
I am brand new to the world of dirt bikes. I have a friend who is trying to get rid of a 1999 Kawasaki KX500 for $2000. The bike is in very good condition and hasn't been riden all that much.

I live in a mountainous area with plenty of forest as well as open space. I wanna ride on trails but also want to ride in open space and learn how to hit jumps.

1. First off is this a good deal? The bike is in my home town and thus I would not have to travel anywhere to get it.

2. I have heard from a few people this week that a KX500 is about as powerful as it gets, and some said to powerful to even have fun. How true is this observation?

3. If I do go on trails in the forest and can't always be going 80 mph, is the power band on the KX500 way to touchy to even have fun?

4. Why are the KX250's worth more than the KX500's? My buddy said the 250's have better technology? Why aren't there many 500 class motocross races, in comparison to the many 250 class?

5.  Seems like more people are talking me out of the bike as opposed to recommending it.  Why is this?

Forgive my ignorance on any questions. Like I said I am brand new to this. I'm afraid that if I don't buy this bike I may never get one at all.

By the way I am 27 yrs old, 5' 10", 180 lbs, and relatively physically fit.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Offline hughes

• Dirt Hammers
Is this KX 500 for me?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2005, 12:55:24 PM »
1) Yes, That is a good deal if the bike has no signs of abuse and has had good maintenance.

2) Yes, It's as powerful as it's get. The best versatile bike ever. Throttle control is key to having fun.

3) No, the power band is not to touchy but requires good throttle control. May need to change gearing for trails and look for a good exhuast system. FMF gnarly low-mid pipe, Pro circuit platinum2 low-mid pipe.