Author Topic: 86 K5 kick starter dragging  (Read 4509 times)

Offline Michael janowicz

86 K5 kick starter dragging
« on: August 03, 2014, 11:41:17 PM »
Hello everyone, I'm new to this page but have read and seen some great stuff here, I am hoping maybe someone can give me some guidance or suggestion on what my problem might be. My 86 K5 stalled out yesterday when I was about to stop, trying to kick it over after the stall the kickstart has a constant drag on the way down. So far I pulled the head, and the piston, ring cylinder all seem fine. Cylinders  off still won't turn over?? Any help appreciated.

Thank's,  Mike

Offline Foxx4Beaver

• James Stewart DID NOT invent the scrub!!..JoJo
Re: 86 K5 kick starter dragging
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2014, 07:45:02 AM »
sounds like it's time to pull the clutch cover off, and have a gander in there.
Excuse me, ma'am...but you've got extremely nice legs!!!...what time do they open???                                                                                                               https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8tCgN3aryQ

Offline sandblaster

• Global Moderator
    • OEM-CYCLE QUALITY USED PARTS
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2014, 10:43:06 AM »
Make sure it's in neutral, then try to rotate the crank by hand.
If it won't move you either have bad rod or main crank bearings  :cry:
The four stroke engine: That's one stroke for producing power and three for wearing the engine out.

Offline Michael janowicz

« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2014, 02:02:04 PM »
Thank's Sandblaster and Foxx4beaver I'm going to check it out tommorow night if I get a chance, I'll keep you posted

Thank's, Mike

Offline Michael janowicz

« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2014, 12:36:26 PM »