Author Topic: Piston Slaps  (Read 6900 times)

Bennie

Piston Slaps
« on: March 23, 2005, 03:54:27 PM »
I'm new to the MX scene but I just got me a 03' KX 250. My friend down the street from me tore into the throttle the first day I got it. Could that damage my bike if its not broke in. Because the bike was brand new like 2 weeks ago when my friend tore into the throttle. Well as I started getting use to how the engine sounds , it seems like my piston kinda makes this slappin sound mainly when it idles or I'm at lower RPM's.  Is it normal to hear that kind of sound? But as for performance the bike spanks my butt, very responsive probably would run straight up a wall if gravity would let it.  So is that sound normal though , plus when I rev or when I'm at high RPM"s I hear like a transmission spinning sound in the casing is that normal too?

mikesmith

Piston Slaps
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2005, 09:59:05 PM »
Kind of hard questions with out hearing the bike,screaming the bike before its broke in is hard on it.Piston and rings or any metal contacting surfaces are not seated,more engine life/performance loss from this (or instant breakage).Only advice I can give is to let a shop or someone with experiance with a KX250 listen to it,and dont let your friend ride your bike anymore!

Bennie

Piston Slaps
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2005, 09:31:07 AM »
Well the shop I bought it from said it sounded fine. But I just wanted your opionion. So you guys think Kawasaki is one of the best Manufacter's out there.

Offline gowen

• Resident Newbie
  • Global Moderator
  • www.KXRiders.com
Piston Slaps
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2005, 02:08:12 PM »