Author Topic: FCR Carb on KX500?  (Read 3840 times)

IridiumRed

FCR Carb on KX500?
« on: March 13, 2005, 06:57:49 PM »
Hey Guys

Love the site.  I recently bought a 97 KX500 (due in no small part to what i read here!!)

question - I've got a Keihin FCR41 (41 mm flatslide race carb..... basically as nice as carbs get!!).  I bought it to use on my KLX650 dual purpose bike, but now i'm wondering, could I use this on the KX500?

I know i'd have to screw with the jetting, but i wonder if it would help with some of the jetting issues that the KX500 is known for??  It has a large (but somewhat adjustable) accelerator pump built in.....

I'm new to 2strokes (know a bit about 4 strokes), and I know that the FCR's are LOVED on 4strokes, but never heard of someone using one on ANY 2 stroke............

Of course, the 41 might be too big, but I could always get a 37 or 39.... they're way easier to find anyways

thanks!!

Offline Timbowe

FCR Carb on KX500?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2005, 07:16:34 PM »
Not sure bout the 500 but I know those carbs are the bees knees on my Duc S/L. Years ago some of the boys used to put 2 stroke carbs on some of the big bore 4 strokes. Was a popular mod. I'm sure some one here will have the answer for you. Cant wait to find out myself!
KX500
Weapon in the hands of the Master

Offline gowen

• Resident Newbie
  • Global Moderator
  • www.KXRiders.com
FCR Carb on KX500?
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2005, 11:12:32 PM »
I am unsure about the exact carb you speak of, but I have a carb for my 500 that is a 41mm Kehin PWK. Something like that would be better posted on Dirtrider.net for the guru Rich Rohrich to answere.

Offline KXcam22

FCR Carb on KX500?
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2005, 04:49:47 AM »
IR,
  Might be fun to try.  I suspect you will have to disable the accelerator pump. 2-strokes typically don't need them. Have fun. Cam.

IridiumRed

FCR Carb on KX500?
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2005, 07:47:27 AM »