Author Topic: 1993 Rebuild....and Intro  (Read 13944 times)

Offline brucifer

1993 Rebuild....and Intro
« on: April 11, 2014, 01:37:38 AM »
Hey guys, new KX500 owner here. I've been riding since I was 4 years old--mainly four-strokes with the occasional two-stroke thrown in. I'm now 48.
I just sold an '84 CR500 so I'm not a noob to 500cc two-strokes but I am to the mighty KX500.

I had posted a wanted ad on CL for a dirt bike project and was offered this bike. The PO had purchased it from a neighbor who pretty much didn't know the meaning of the word maintenance. The gentleman I purchased it from gave me a list of everything he did to it and what he thought needed attention. The bike had not run since the PO bought it from his neighbor but I was assured it did run.
When it was delivered to me, I checked it over and discovered it had decent compression but something felt "loose" when I kicked it over. I got it on compression and grabbed the kickstarter with my hand and kinda moved it against compression and relaxed, against compression, relaxed a few times and could feel play and could hear a muted kind of a "clank" in the top end. The first thing I thought of was the wrist pin/bearing.
I put fresh gas in to see if it would actually fire--and it did. Unfortunately it was rattling like heck.

Soooooo....time to pull the top end and have a look at the damage. I figured I'd document the process here and share what I found. I welcome any input you guys would like to give during this process.

Here's the bike.

Thanks.

Bruce
« Last Edit: April 11, 2014, 01:42:05 AM by brucifer »

Offline sandblaster

• Global Moderator
    • OEM-CYCLE QUALITY USED PARTS
Re: 1993 Rebuild....and Intro
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2014, 03:43:13 AM »
Hey Bruce, welcome to the best Kawi forum on the web.
There is more info, combined knowledge, and people who are willing to share then any other site out there.
Pop the top off that thing and lets have a look.