Author Topic: Back to green  (Read 2412 times)

Offline Miscreant317

Back to green
« on: April 11, 2013, 08:19:45 AM »
I haven't rode for many years, but my kids are racing 50s. I'm picking up a locked up 1998 kx250 later today with hopes of building up a halfway decent bike. I expect I will wish I had bought new by the time I'm finished but what the hell I love a project.

Right now I am looking for the options. I plan on rebuilding the motor completely of course and probably send it over to EG for some work (He did my last KX way back in 1997 after I bought it new) I would love to move the engine to a little newer frame for an upgraded look.
What steel frames will this engine drop into? I'm a decent welder and don't mind moving/fabbing brackets. No desire to go aluminum.
How many parts from the old bike would carry over without having to replace with the newer?
What is the suspension interchange? Certain year KX450f/250f stuff bolt right on?
What years will the wheels from the '98 fit on?

Offline kxpegger

Re: Back to green
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2013, 12:15:37 PM »
Welcome aboard!

Good luck with your project bike. I'm thinking someone around here may be able to answer some of your questions but that would not be me!
North Las Vegas

"05" RMZ450, "08" KX500AF "11" KTM 450SX-F "12" KTM 250SX "15" KTM450SX-F

Offline sandblaster

• Global Moderator
    • OEM-CYCLE QUALITY USED PARTS
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2013, 12:23:26 PM »
Welcome back to green!
Many of the answers to your questions will depend on what year and size chassis your hoping to go to.
Any idea's?
Wheels on a 98?
You can use 89-02 kx250, 89-04 kx500, and you can use 125 front wheels but the rears use a smaller rim width.
I have compiled a bunch of 250 info here:
http://www.oem-cycle.com/KAWASAKIKX250BIKEID.shtml
Your fun is just beginning  :-D
The four stroke engine: That's one stroke for producing power and three for wearing the engine out.

Offline Miscreant317