Author Topic: KX 500 Turning......  (Read 6171 times)

Offline jbehunin

KX 500 Turning......
« on: February 15, 2012, 07:15:33 AM »
I am pretty new to the KX 500.
I was a CR 500 owner for many years, then I decided to change things up a bit and got a KX 500. I am extremely happy with the bike. It is big, roomy and powerful. But I have a problem getting comfortable turning. My old CR 500 would turn at any time. The KX 500 likes to go straight.
Are there any secrets how to make this bike turn better?
Thanks!!!

Offline kwakman

• Kwikasfuki KX500
Re: KX 500 Turning......
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2012, 09:04:30 AM »
raise the rear ride height or drop the clamps down the forks a few mm at a time till you get the responsitivity back.stability or turning prowess, the trade is up to you...keep your suspenders well serviced and chassis bearings too.K.
And lo, I did loft the front wheel and carried it forth to the unbelievers, and cast it down before them and said unto them ''look now upon the might of my throttle control ye pitiful cretinous ones''
And the unbelievers did quake in their boots....

Motorrad

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2012, 10:10:17 AM »
I turn mine with a liberal sprinkling of right hand...  :evil:

but seriously... proper set suspension makes worlds of differance (proper springs for you,   race sag etc)..     that is #1...

#2   play with fork hight

#3..   there was a thread on here a while back... old thread discussing this.. and it ame down to proper foot peg english.. ..

this bike was a Desert bike.. not ment for a tight track like the CR's... it will never turn like a CR... 

well there is one way..

a phone call to Emig Racing for a new set of clamps...
« Last Edit: February 15, 2012, 10:14:13 AM by Motorrad »

Offline 81cr450

« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2012, 02:20:55 PM »